For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
What is happening with 3G?
robhedrick's profile

Teacher

• 

16 Messages

Thursday, December 11th, 2014 5:30 PM

The Problem behind recent Microcell DISconnectivity

I am a Network Engineer and I have figured out what's behind the problem that many are facing!... but not the solution yet. I have a microcell and have been using it for years and it stopped working recently. I went thru all the steps described in previous posts with no avail. I started up a conversation with a friend at the network operations centers for my local ISP and got the answer.

You may have noticed recently an increase in DDOS attacks on ISP's. If you haven't, it’s happening a lot. One such LESS known port is UDP port 0 which is technically an illegal port(which is why it's not listed as a port requirement for the Microcell but it’s essential). Its primary purpose is to transverse fragmented packets (IE fingerprint matches for IPSEC)...If you recall in the setup instructions, it explicitly states that you have to "Allow Fragmented Packets."  Well when the ISP blocks this port, which mine did, to STOP an in progress attack, the ATT Microcell stops working. The reason this happens is because of the fragmented packets in the IPSEC connection from the microcell travel over...you guessed it, UDP port 0.

I bet you if you check with someone knowledgeable at your ISP, you will find out that UDP port 0, AKA fragmented packets, are being blocked as a response to a DDOS attack.

I have confirmed the information with the network operations center for my ISP and all “Microcell” customers are currently affected. They are working on cooking up a solution with Cisco TAC on a method to filter or inspect UDP 0 traffic but as of yet, they haven't come up with one.

The problem we face is more than likely going to have to come from the Engineers of the Microcells themselves.